Florida State honors three with Torch Awards

Florida State University

Florida State University’s Faculty Senate honored three individuals – Harold Knowles, Charles Ehrhardt and Anne Row – with Torch Awards, showcasing their contributions to the university’s academic excellence.

The Torch Awards, which derive their name from the university’s seal, come in three categories. Vires represents moral, physical and intellectual strength. Artes symbolizes an appreciation of the beauty of intellectual pursuits. Mores signifies respect for customs, characters and tradition.

“The FSU Faculty Senate was honored to present this year's Torch Awards to three remarkable individuals who exemplify the ideals of strength, skill and character,” Susan Fiorito, faculty senate president, said. “Each are dear to us in their own very special way and have a long, accomplished relationship with FSU. Through their tireless efforts, these dedicated individuals have made this university a better place for us all.”

Knowles, a local attorney and former FSU Board of Trustees member, received the Artes award. Ehrhardt professor emeritus in the FSU College of Law, was given the Mores award. Rowe, a retired FSU administrator, received the Vires award.

The recipients were handed their awards during a Tuesday reception and dinner hosted by John Thrasher, the president of FSU.

Organizations in this story

Florida State University

Want to get notified whenever we write about Florida State University ?
Next time we write about Florida State University, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.