Arkansas recognizes professors for excellence in education

This is the inaugural year for the Hoyt Purvis Award.
This is the inaugural year for the Hoyt Purvis Award. | Contributed photo

The University of Arkansas' recipients of the Hoyt Purvis and Collis Green awards were honored Wednesday in the Gearhart Hall Courtyard. 

The awards honor excellence in international education and graduate education.

This is the inaugural year for the Purvis Award, which was established in honor a longtime professor of journalism and international relations. He was chosen as the first recipient of the award named for him in recognition of his contributions to the university’s international education program.

The Green Award honors faculty and staff who show extraordinary commitment to graduate education. The award was first given in 2010 to honor Geren, who served as University of Arkansas’ dean for almost 20 years.

John Norwood, professor of accounting in the Walton College of Business, was chosen as this year’s honoree due to his service as a mentor, friend, promoter and supporter of students.

Organizations in this story

University of Arkansas

Want to get notified whenever we write about University of Arkansas ?
Next time we write about University of Arkansas, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.