Cameron honors leadership, top academic performers

Business school instructor Bernadette Lonzanida was named professor of the year. | Contributed photo

In recognition of outstanding undergraduates, faculty and staff— including nontraditional students — Cameron University’s Office of Campus Life recently convened its annual awards ceremony to acknowledge recipients’ leadership, service and academic achievement.

Selected by their peers — as drawn from faculty, staff and students — the top 20 winners for 2016 are Holden Rowe, Nikki Kirk, Zach Young, Brigette Thompson, Lindsey Smith, Jacob Quickle, Chima Aghaulor, Oluwatoyin Kayode, Bishaka Karki, Sijalu Paudel, Nisha Wagle, Jacob Jardel, Alexandra Kolinski, Natalie Ruiz-Castillo, Megan Skulski, Zoie Timothy, Philip Worthen, Sonora Zukerman,Timothy Alaniz and Vicky Smith.

Making the university’s Top 10 nontraditional student list — comprised of enrollees over the age of 25 — are Richard Dailey, Akinola Akinlawon, Shilo Allen, Bambi Hampton, Saranah Isenberg, Chelsey Morin, Rebekah Pullicar, Sarah Walker, Jared Stokes and Donnet Williams. 

Student government leaders including Kelly High, Sarah Downen and Mark Bannon were sworn in as SGA president, vice president and treasurer, respectively; and the SGA’s ban on concealed weapons was named Legislation of the Year.

Additionally, business school instructor Bernadette Lonzanida was named professor of the year, while Marty Clark was named outstanding staff member. Various student organizations and advocacy groups were recognized for planning, program development, community service and/or philanthropy.

Organizations in this story

Cameron University 2800 West Gore Boulevard Lawton, OK - 73505

Get notified the next time we write about Cameron University!