University of Arkansas recognizes staff member in annual employee appreciation banquet

University of Arkansas recognizes staff member in annual employee appreciation banquet
The University of Arkansas recently hosted its annual Employee Appreciation Banquet during Staff Appreciation Week, honoring more than 360 staff members for their contributions to the school’s successes.
“You’re the people who keep the university running day in and day out, year after year — you’re why the University of Arkansas is great,” University of Arkansas Chancellor Joe Steinmetz said in his welcoming remarks at the event, which was held at the Fayetteville Town Center. “You bring a vast amount of knowledge and experience to your jobs every day, and you impart that to the students and the colleagues you encounter. Institutions don’t have values and traditions — people do. And you embody those values and traditions in the day-to-day course of your work.”
Awards at the event included Staff Senate Team Award, the Diversity Award, Staff Senate Scholarships and recognition of staff members who had completed their degrees with the university. The awards also included five Employees of the Year: Anne Raines, Carolyn Chitwood, Natalia Karnes, Leigh Marshall and Jackson Owusu.
The university took the opportunity to recognize staff members who have been with the school for an extended period of time, honoring the more than 263 staffers who have worked there for over 10 years. Fifty-five of those have worked with the school for 15 years, 33 for 20 years, 36 for 25 years, 17 for 30 years, 17 for 35 years and nine staff members were recognized for 40 years of service with the school.

Organizations in this story

University of Arkansas 1 N University Ave Fayetteville, AR 72701-5031

Get notified the next time we write about University of Arkansas!